Hot for Teacher – I think NOT

Once again I have been a single parent for the last couple (3 days 12 hours and 48 minutes – but who’s counting) of days. So far my older ones have been such a . . . . a . . . well they’ve been nice. I really cant complain, the dishes have been done (minus the dried food stuck to the edges) and the bathrooms swept. Today they will be graduating to using the vacuum (Lord help me). My youngest has been testing every piece of my very existence. Like every other week that I have the chore of taking and picking up the kids, I leave work and pick up my youngest, bring him back here to my job so that he can get his homework done. On Tuesday I walked into the school office and was confronted by the teacher.

“Excuse Mrs. (insert my last name here). Im Mrs. (insert teachers name here), your sons writing and reading teacher.”

“Oh, hi there. Is everything ok?” – just then the Vice Principle comes out of the office and stood there beside the teacher. Immediately I felt my heart pounding. Well fuck, what the hell did I do? “Is there something going on at home? Your son mentioned to me he does not have the time to do his homework. He had mentioned that you told him you all didn’t have time.” As she said this she began looking at me up and down. “Education is very important and should be taken seriously”

Okay WTF is happening? I stared down at my son and he just stood there looking at me like “OH SHIT!” – “Im sorry Mrs.? . . yea well umm what are you talking about? My mother n law picks up my son every day and from what I understand he has been doing his homework”

The bitch actually chuckled when she said “Well we all know what happens when we assume” – yeah I’ve heard the saying assuming only makes an ”ass” out of “u” and “me”.

“Can we get to the point? I left work to be here and I need to get back” – yeah Im a bitch so sue me, but I was smiling (well smirking but its all the same right?)

“Your son has not turned in any of his writing/reading homework for two weeks” – WTF!!!???!!!

“Are you kidding me?” – It was like someone slapped me with a book. I was waiting for a CPS officer to bust through the door and take my son away. “I had no idea – im so sorry. But wait wait . . two weeks? Why wasn’t I called or notified after the 2nd or 3rd day he didn’t turn anything in? My number is on file and an email address”

“Well I spoke to your son and he”

“You spoke to my son and he told you what? He’s 9, he’s not the parent I AM. I’ll tell you what, this is going to get fixed. Next time he misses one day of homework call me ASAP”. With that I took my son and left. Its AMAZING how everything happens when my husband works late. Crap I’m soooo lucky.

Silver Lining – I cant think of one but after a few drinks this weekend I’ll come up with something 🙂

    • marinasleeps
    • October 7th, 2010

    Geez Louise. Ok I understand teachers are under a lot of stress now a days but isn’t the idea to work with the parents and not make them hate you?
    Ugh I would have gotten so angry. What the hell were they gonna wait til he failed to tell you?

    Good job to you for holding your ground!!!

  1. No kidding – your kid is 9! Did they think he was just going to tell you he was ditching his homework??

  2. EXACTLY! These teachers I tell ya!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

