Salsa Verde – and my “blonde” moment

I recently asked a very good friend of mine for her Salsa Verde (Green Salsa)- she emailed the recipe to me and because I am such a GENIOUS in the kitchen I absolutely knew I could make this simple easy salsa.  Once you read my response and later her email back to me I am absolutely mortified.  And you will truelly know why all of my sister n laws (there are 5 of them) call me “blondie”. 

Her email:

Subject: Salsa Verde 

12 Tomatillos (peeled and washed)
 
4 Green Anaheim Chilis (stems removed)
 
1 Jalapeno (stem removed)
 
2 Cloves of Garlic
 
1 TBSP Cilantro (chopped)
 
2 Avocados (cut in cubes)
 
salt and pepper to taste 
 
Boil Tomatillos, Chilis, jalapeno and garlic in enough water to cover. When soft (about 15-20 minutes) put in blender without the water and add cilantro salt and pepper.  Pour into a bowl and add cubed avocados.  Enjoy!

My response (I am SOOO EMBARRASSED):

Why did I read the first line and start crying?  Oh man what the heck is a tomatillo and peeled?  Can I find those in a can? 

Anaheim Chilis – Ummm I think my friend lives about 20 minutes from there so I can have her send me some  – this one I know I can do 

The rest of the ingredients I have – perfect  

Now the whole mixing together blender thing stuff – yeah that’s not going to happen.  And here I thought you were going to tell me to just wash, smash, mix, and serve  :sigh: Ok I will try once I get those chili things.  

Thank you Bun Bun

Her reply:

You can find anaheim chili’s at any local super market silly.  Tomatillos are right next to the jalapenos in the supermarket. They look like little green tomatoes with a dry skin around them. And no they don’t come in a can! LOL
Girl stay away from the knives and all electric appliances!  Let me know when you need it and I’ll make it for you.  Im frightened for your hubby.  LOL you made my morning!
 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

